Vinyls not for scratching it’s for life

 

I have had some shit days recently. Car broke down in the middle of a busy junction, have had to buy the car a new engine, named my wallet Martin,  have bushes outside that need trimming, computer not working at work etc. Anyway I sure you understand. Oh one thing to explain, named my Wallet after Martin Handford (creator of Where’s Wally or Where’s Waldo if you are American) as my wallet plays it’s own game where’s money? And being creative a sequel What is money anyway?

Anyway combine this with dropping the dose of my Parkinson’s medicines, being overweight and work being tough and my life is endowed with challenges. Yay!

But so what

I sit listening to Chequered Past(little known band featuring Steve Jones from the Sex Pistols and Clem Burke from Blondie) belt out “Only the strong will survive”  I am happy. Only my vinyl records have the same treasured memories as my much loved books sharing the ability to take me to other places. I listen to the 1980 live version of Whitesnake’s “Fool for your loving” remembering a band before the hair became as important as the music. Aerosmith transport me back to a concert at the Hammersmith Odeon,amongst the best I have seen, Jeff Healey I saw play the guitar in a way no one else can, Red Hot Chilli Peppers who I saw at the Student Union  at Portsmouth with a bassist called flea that jumped continually. I could go but if I haven’t bored you I will.

A short blog but as I sit with a cup of tea made by my daughter and a smile, the cobwebs have been blown away and I feel  energised. Chequered past is chequered present but at the moment feels like the chequered flag. Ian Astbury of the Cult sings in his gloomy shouty way”Hot sticky scenes you know what I mean”and I don’t.  Some lyrics still baffle me but towards the end he sings “I love the rain” and being Cornish born and bred I do.

Long may vinyl reign.

Thanks for reading.

Take care

Jon

Published by

jonbest13gmailcom

I am 47 and have Parkinson's and a full life with a fulltime job and a family.I live in the UK

One thought on “Vinyls not for scratching it’s for life”

  1. Oh Jon – so sorry that the dips were as low as they were, but glad you could find a way to see sunshine through the rain. I really appreciate the honesty of your blog posts. I think it encourages a lot of people! Long may vinyl reign!

    Like

Leave a Reply

