Walking

Six years ago I trekked to Machu Picchu in the mountains. Five years ago I walked 26 miles in a day on a sponsored walk.
Since then I put on 4 stone in weight and become much less active. My car broke down recently and needs a new engine.Despite others help it is a difficult period.I bought a new engine for the car but it is no good and needs returned. I have return labels to take to the garage so I will leave early from work.
I do an office job and although I move about can be quite stiff when first moving. I leave work at3.30 with rucksack on my back and start to walk through the town.The initial part of the walk s uphill. I walk stiffly with slight Parkinsons shuffle legs almost immediatly weary. I trudge on. My left hip aching as I walk feeling embarassed by my slowness just taking one step after another stopping twice for a brief pause on my way up the hill. The discomfort persists until I reach the top of the hill.I have only shuffled a quarter of a mile of a 2 mile journey to the garage but most of it is level or downhill.I keep going my legs loosening up but still walking slowly but feeling less tired. This takes me for maybe half a mile passing a butchers that sells very good Cornish Pasties(-one tip if you want to have a good Cornish Pasty Butchers are often better than bakers because they use better meat.)
I decide to have a pasty. I decide not have a pasty. I decide to have a pasty if they have any left. None are visible and usually they would be sold out by this time in the afternoon. So I ask if any are left and yes there is a large steak pasty the butcher retrieves from the back. I havea pasty and it is not my fault fate conspired against me. No small or medium pasties just a large. I have always found attaching the words small or medium to a pasty to be offensive. I would probably campaign against Brexit if EU laws said all pasties must be large Small pasties are morally wrong leading a person down the road of needing more than one.
If you haven’t already guessed my overweight stature has a link to overeating and I am currently on a program of reducing my main Parkinson’s medication to help me gain some control over this. I over eat particularly in an evening or at night. I discovered about a month ago on putting new batteries in the scales I was over 17 stone and removing layers of clothing would not take me under it. Despite my pasty I believe I am starting to see more resistance to my compulsivre eating since reducing the meds responsible for the side effect of compulsive behaviour.
I walked on eating my pasty. Walked at a normal pace shuffle gone. The pasty became my early dinner and did boost my energy level. It was another half mile at least until my legs again felt tired but more than halfway to the garage I steadily continued. At one point I coughed so deeply I almost  gave myself a groin strain. Getting closer now but having to cross at busy junction and watch traffic from four directions. I performed a maneouvre weaving through traffic that deserved the Red Arrows trademark coloured smoke trail left behind but was not a contender for a road safety award.
I finished my journey to the garage knowing it was about a further approimately 2.25-2.5 miles home but I could call a taxi. After 15 minutes my legs feeling normal I strode down the road.bizarrely my legs completely loosened up by walking did not feel tired. Now on plan B there are 3 potential stops where I can get a taxi if i can’t continue. After a half mile of downhill I face my first small incline. My arthritic left knee starts to protest so I lead with theother leg my Parkinson’s side pulling me up the hill.It works pain in my knee abates. I keep going for almost a mile. The last ile starts with about 0.4 mile steep uphill, o.1 mile flat and the final half a mile downhill. I stop 3 times on the firs half ofthe hill. My walking dferently to appease my knee seems to be upsetting my hip. Legs now very tired steps shortened to half stride I get to the top of the hill.After walking past the final pub on route another Prkinsons problem rears its head. Bladder urgency. I realise that it comes in waves. My next thought is don’t think water I may think of fountains or taps next.Too late to stop a thought but I mentally tie my bladder up averting disaster. My final step on tired legs take me home thankfully making it to my bathroom.
There nmust e somebody wondering why didn’t I get a taxi. My walking time since leaving wrk was 2 hours. Afew years ago I could have done this easily in an hour and a quarter. If you have read this far you must have a concept of endurance. Fitness does not follow a linear downward path. I walked to remind myself I can. I may not ever get back to being able to do 26 miles walking in a day. but so what?, fitness can be influenced and improved by making the right choices. I walked to remind myself that.
Thanks for reading
Take care
Jon
Published by

jonbest13gmailcom

I am 47 and have Parkinson's and a full life with a fulltime job and a family.I live in the UK

Leave a Reply

