Cars

Just a brief note today.

I have heard it said that people often have cars like themselves. Needs a new engine, has appetite for a lot of fuel, makes strange noises, body work no longer immaculate and its sporty days are in the past. I have no idea where they get that from that is nothing like me.

My car is off the road at the moment awaiting a new engine. I broke down about three weeks ago. The car stall at traffic lights on a main road when I was turning right.at the busiest time of day. Yes my car had all the timing of a spurned ex lover awaiting the besttime to kick you when you are down.

Luckily  the lorry driver behind me realises I have a problem and helps me with a push taking me clear of the main road and blocking a busy company drive. The car too heavy for me to push while steering so I go into a community hall on the other side of the road. I have seen people dressed in fitness gear but as I approach I realise this is some sort of “recovery” exercise class with not a fit person in sight. On explaining my problem a volunteer says he can help and thankfully we together move the car onto the pavement.

IP stumble up the road to the garage who tell me later in the day I need a new engine. Three weeks later after an engine returned to Asda I await another. It has been the hardest of periods, journeys take longer, less convenient and consequently less freedom. I am so lucky that people have given me a lot of help. I can’t wait to be driving again though.

Published by

jonbest13gmailcom

I am 47 and have Parkinson's and a full life with a fulltime job and a family.I live in the UK

Leave a Reply

